Miami Beach, Floride
When deciding whether to become an Airbnb host, it’s important for you to understand the laws in your city. As a platform and marketplace, we don’t provide legal advice, but we want to share useful links that may help you better understand the laws and regulations in Miami Beach. This list isn’t exhaustive, but it should give you a good start in understanding your local laws. If you have questions, contact the Planning Department at 305.673.7550, or consult a local lawyer or tax professional.
Short-term rental registration
All short-term stay hosts with listings in permitted zones have until November 5, 2019, to upload their City of Miami Beach registration numbers to Airbnb.
Registering your listing for short-term stays involves you obtaining a:
- Florida Vacation Rental Dwelling License
- City of Miami Beach Business Tax Receipt (BTR) number
- City of Miami Beach Resort Tax Certificate number
If you haven’t already completed your registration process, we recommend getting started now as this process can take some time.
If you’ve already obtained your City-issued Business Tax Receipt and Resort Tax Certificate numbers, add them to your listing and your registration process will be complete.
Short-term rental registration exemptions
Florida licensed hotel or motel: In order to remain eligible for future bookings, you must claim an exemption with Airbnb via the Manage Your Space Regulations tab.
Long term stays: If you only host long term stays (more than 180 consecutive nights), you don’t need to register your listing with the City.
Short-term rental eligibility
The City of Miami Beach requires short term stay hosts, defined as hosts with bookings fewer than or equal to 180 consecutive nights with listings in permitted zones to register with the City and meet the following requirements:
- The host must be the property owner (e.g., on the warranty deed or property tax bill)
- Any hosts in condo associations/HOAs must have a letter from such association/HOA stating that the short-term rental is allowed, dated within 60 days from the application date (and the condo association/HOA must also have its own business tax receipt).
Short-term rental registration guide
Step 1: Get a State Vacation Rental Dwelling License
What you’ll need:
- Florida sales tax number (or exemption)
- Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) [only required for business/corporate applicants]
- Social Security Number or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)
- Completed DBPR HR-7020, Certificate of Balcony Inspection [if listing is within a 3 floor story building unless exempt]
How long it takes: We recommend applying online to expedite this process.
What to do:
- Online [Recommended]: Fill out state Vacation Rental Dwelling License.
- Mail: Print and fill out state Vacation Rental Dwelling License form + DBPR HR-7020, Certificate of Balcony Inspection [if applicable]. Mail completed form(s) + a check/money order to: Division of Hotels and Restaurants Department of Business and Professional Regulation, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783.
Fees: To obtain a DBPR Vacation Rental Dwelling License, there is a license fee (depending on number of listings) + $50 one time application processing fee.
- Online: You can pay online via credit card.
- Mail: You can pay via mail by check or money order, payable to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. Cash payments are not accepted.
Questions: Call the DBPR Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395.
Step 2: Get a Business Tax Receipt number
What you’ll need:
- DBPR state Vacation Rental Dwelling License number (from Step 1)
- Proof of ownership document (e.g., warranty deed or property tax bill)
- Letter from condo association/HOA that short-term rental is allowed for your specific unit dated within 60 days of the Business Tax Receipt application [if applicable]
- Notarized affidavit form (to be picked up in person at the City Finance Department)
How long it takes: The Business Tax Receipt step may take up to 4 weeks to complete.
What to do:
- Online: Complete the online business tax receipt application.
- In-person: Print and fill out the business tax receipt application form. Drop off the application in person at the Finance Department/Customer Service Center located at 1755 Meridian Ave, 1st Floor, Room #100, Miami Beach, FL 33139 between the hours of 8:30am - 6:00pm
Fees: The Business Tax Receipt process involves a $45 application fee, a $57.50 fire department inspection fee, and a $69 license fee. Both the fire department fee and the license fee must be paid in person.
Pro-tip: You can pay your fire department inspection fee and license fee in person at the Finance Department’s Customer Service Center located at 1755 Meridian Ave, 1st Floor, Room #100, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (8:30 am- 6:00 pm). While paying your fees, we recommend you also pick up an affidavit form. You will need to submit a notarized affidavit form (either in person or by mail) in order to receive your business tax receipt number.
Questions: Call the City Finance Department’s Business Tax Receipt’s Office at 305.673.7420.
Step 3: Get a Resort Tax Certificate number
What you’ll need:
- Driver’s license number
- Social security number
- Business Tax Receipt number (from Step 2)
- Sales tax account number [only for businesses]
- Federal ID number [only for businesses]
How long it takes: We recommend applying in person to expedite the processing time of your Resort Tax application. Typically Resort Tax applications may be processed within a few business days.
What to do: Follow the City’s step by step instructions while filling out your resort tax application. The application may be obtained and submitted in-person at the City’s Finance Department/Customer Service Center located at 1755 Meridian Ave, 1st Floor, Room #100, Miami Beach, FL 33139 between the hours of 8:30am - 6:00pm. You can also mail in your completed application form to: The City of Miami Beach/Resort Tax, 1700 Convention Center Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139.
Fees: There is a $25 fee associated with the resort tax registration application. Please make your fee check payable to City of Miami Beach/Resort Tax.
Questions: Call the City of Miami Beach Resort Tax staff at 305.673.7447.
Step 4: Upload your Business Tax Receipt number and Resort Tax number to Airbnb
What you’ll need:
- Business Tax Receipt number
- Resort Tax number
What to do: Return to Airbnb to add these numbers to your listing and your registration process will be complete.
The City of Miami Beach, Miami-Dade County, and the State of Florida assess tourist taxes on any short term rentals of accommodations with a duration of 6 months or less. Find out more about Airbnb’s tax collection and remittance in Florida.
Land development regulations
Check Miami Beach’s short term rental zoning map to see if your listing is consistent with current zoning requirements or use definitions.
Building and housing standards
Miami Beach enforces rules and regulations that specify minimum construction, design, maintenance standards, habitability, health, and safety. Certain rules and regulations applicable to residential and non-residential regulations may be relevant to your listing. Please review Chapter 14 of the Code of Ordinances and contact the Code Compliance Department for more information.
It's also important to understand and abide by other contracts or rules that bind you, such as leases, condo board or co-op rules, HOA rules, or rules established by tenant organizations. Please read your lease agreement and check with your landlord if applicable.
Our commitment to your community
We are committed to working with local officials to help them understand how Airbnb benefits our community. Where needed, we will continue to advocate for changes that will allow regular people to rent out their own homes.
Sur le même sujet
- Hôte d'expérienceQuel type de taxes dois-je payer en tant qu'hôte d'expériences à Miami ?Si vous envisagez d'organiser une expérience sur Airbnb, voici quelques informations pour mieux comprendre les réglementations en vigueur da…
- Comté de Miami-Dade, FlorideSi vous envisagez de devenir hôte sur Airbnb, voici quelques informations pour mieux comprendre les réglementations en vigueur dans votre vi…
- Hôte d'expérienceExpériences incluant la consommation de nourriture à Rio de JaneiroOrganiser des expériences avec Airbnb est un plaisir, mais certaines activités sont soumises à des règles et obligations. Nous avons rassemb…